Coastal Association of Health Underwriters
Google Custom Search
Operation Shout

           NAHU's Health Access Plan
Legislative Advocacy NAHU
NCAHU Lobbyist

Robert C. Paschal 
P.O. Box 31627                       
Raleigh, North Carolina 27622   
P: (919) 782-6860                   
F: (919) 782-6753

Robert C Paschal is a Partner at Young, Moore & Henderson, PA and a lobbyist for the North Carolina Association of Health Underwriters. His practice emphasizes matters relating to life, accident and health insurance and ERISA, legislative, representation of TPA's  and corporate law. Robert is admitted to practice in all states and federal courts in North Carolina, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, and the United States Supreme Court. He is a member of the North Carolina State Bar, North Carolina Bar Association, American Bar Association, Defense Research Institute and American Law Firm Association.

Risk Pool is Here  August 3. 2007

Yesterday the North Carolina House voted to concur in Senate amendments to the High Risk Pool legislation (H.B. 265), thereby causing the bill to be ratified and sent to the Governor for his signature. 
Here's the final play by play.  The bill passed the House on May 1 with the funding mechanism tied to assessments of insurers.  The bill was sent to Senate Commerce, which on July 23 gave it a favorable report, but only after revising the funding mechanism to repeal the small business tax credit and to fund the Pool with State appropriations.  The bill then went "sideways" twice, first to Senate Finance and then to Senate Appropriations.  It was amended yet again to fund the Pool with premium tax revenues rather than State appropriations. On July 31 and August 1 the bill passed the Senate unanimously on second and third readings, and yesterday, also in a unanimous vote, the House voted to concur in changes made to the bill by the Senate.
Thus, premium tax revenues will fund the Pool when shortfalls arise, and as best I can tell, the small business tax credit was not repealed after all.  But I will do some checking to verify this.
The General Assembly adjourned late yesterday, and I will do my best to get you a comprehensive closing report next week.  But, for now, know that the risk pool concept will be implemented in North Carolina.  My thanks to those who labored in the vineyard to help bring this about, and look for my closing report next week. 
Robert C. Paschal
Young Moore & Henderson, P.A.
3101 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, North Carolina 27612
2012NAHU HUPAC Contributors     (Contribution)
Benton Blalock Mark Waugh Christopher Benedict
Connette Bradley William C. Bunting

M. Hughes Waren, Jr.

James Williams Katie Gallagher Frank Garrison
David Hill Barbara Smith Timothy Walsh
Robert McIver Nicholas A. Ogden Amanda Smith
  Dennis Stokley  

What is HUPAC?

Are you prepared to obtain the latest extendable to your game titles sector? It is now a great deal a lot easier and also much more to place bets and participate in your preferred gaming games. With your brand-new blood suckers slot you may be amazed how intriguing as well as thrilling it happens to be! Why stop to see what we are finding, glance at the gry hazardowe za darmo automaty bez logowania as well as feel these feelings about yourself. Listed below you will discover your best video game titles such as poker, black-jack numerous others. Excitement and even possibility is the thing that authentic individuality live for, due to the fact together with a few minutes you possibly can develop positive adjustments to help life insurance coverage along with turn a bare protected guess in addition to winner! Although some people might put it off uncertainly on the side traces, do something along with consider a person's fortune within your very own hands. Ultimately, just bold besides self-confident buyers will get that which you are usually warrant although not make many weeks task unexciting work in the office!

HUPAC is the political action committee of the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU). It is the expression of our First Amendment rights to free speech and association guaranteed under the Constitution. Such political expression has become far more than a useful option for professionals in a heavily regulated business like the health insurance industry. It has become a necessity.

HUPAC is registered with the Federal Election Commission. Since NAHU and similar organizations are prohibited from making political contributions, HUPAC was created to allow contributors to combine their financial support to a candidate to achieve maximum effect.

Why is HUPAC Necessary?

Few other industries are as heavily regulated as health insurance. Therefore, your success, and that of your clients, is directly dependent upon the actions of Congress. It is absolutely critical that we help those congressional candidates who support private-sector health insurance.

How Can I Help Make a Difference?

It is imperative that NAHU members work together to counteract the strong and united forces of special-interest groups that oppose the free enterprise system of health care. HUPAC allows us to combine our resources and strength to make a difference where it will have the greatest impact for our colleagues, our clients and, above all, our country. All this can be accomplished through financial support of HUPAC. Donate today and make a difference!

HUPAC Contribution form

Home / Events / Members Area / Awards / Officers / Photos / Legislation / Volunteers
© 2009 Coastal Association of Health Underwriters, Inc. All right reserved (2003-2009)